Spellcaster by Claudia Gray (Review)

12700790

Synopsis: When Nadia’s family moves to Captive’s Sound, she instantly realizes there’s more to it than meets the eye. Descended from witches, Nadia senses a dark and powerful magic at work in her new town. Mateo has lived in Captive’s Sound his entire life, trying to dodge the local legend that his family is cursed – and that curse will cause him to believe he’s seeing the future … until it drives him mad. When the strange dreams Mateo has been having of rescuing a beautiful girl—Nadia—from a car accident come true, he knows he’s doomed.

Despite the forces pulling them apart, Nadia and Mateo must work together to break the chains of his family’s terrible curse, and to prevent a disaster that threatens the lives of everyone around them. Shimmering with magic and mystery, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray’s new novel depicits a dark and unforgettable world of witches, curses, buried secrets, and star crossed romance.

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adults Literature, Paranormal, Magic, Romance

Cover: I’m not usually a huge fan of covers with people on it, but this one is really nice. I really love the girl on the cover because, well, she’s beautiful and she really does look exactly like the main character. The cover also matches the title, and the blue flame held in the palm of the girl’s hand is a nice touch.

What I Have To Say: Nadia is a the new girl in town- or actually a new witch in town. After her mother decides to leave her, her brother, and her father, they decide it is time for a “fresh start” in Captive Sound. She senses magic when entering the town and coincidentally gets in a car wreck upon their arrival. Fortunately, a local boy Mateo was there to save Nadia and her family. The moment Mateo and Nadia lock eyes, there is a connection made. Although Nadia is filled with wonder when Mateo first grabs Nadia’s hand and rescues her from the wreck, Mateo feels absolute doom. Because of the “Curse” that has been rumored to plague Mateo’s family he receives dreams that are supposed to tell  him the future. That’s how he knew when to save Nadia and how he knows the curse is real. Mateo tries to keep to himself and to ignore Nadia’s mystical presence but Nadia has another agenda. Nadia senses dark magic in the town and she takes it upon herself to rid the town of its doom.

This book was good. It wasn’t amazing and perfect, but just good. I love the subject of magic and witches which is why I did end up loving it. I love Gray’s portrayal of magic in the book. It was much different from most witch and magic stories I’ve read so I thought that aspect was unique about it.

The characters in the book were well thought of, except for Nadia. Mateo, the love interest, is driven, handsome, concerned, and a little angry. He has a lot of background to him which I liked and I think his POV during the book was my favorite. Verlaine, the first person  Nadia tells about her powers to is witty, sassy, and totally weird. It is hinted there is something special about her but it is not revealed in this book. She is very helpful to Nadia and determined to avenge her parents death by assisting in getting rid of the town’s dark magic and unexpected villain.

Nadia, though, is probably the most dull out of all the characters. Like most heroines, she cares for everyone’s safety and is brave, but to be honest, I just could not connect with her. I feel like I didn’t really know anything personal about her or the way she was. To me, she wasn’t that great of a character and I hope in the next book Gray goes more deeply into her character and personality.

The aspect I loved about this book the most was probably the brewing romance between Nadia and Mateo. At some points I felt the sexual tension between them. Although I thought they were moving fast (feeling wise) it turned out the connection between them was just so strong and they could not avoid it. Because Mateo had dreams about Nadia from before he met her, it was almost like he had already known her from a long time ago which I think was very romantic.

I also really loved the changing pov. Throughout the book there are about 5 point of views. Although many people do not like switching POV mid chapter, I adored it because that way I feel much more connected to the characters. I also get to understand what they are thinking a little bit more.

Overall, the book was good. I would recommend it to anyone who loves magic and an intense life threatening plot.

Rating: ★★★☆☆

 

Leave a Reply

