The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (Review)

16101128Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Aliens

Cover: This is one of my most favorite covers from 2014. It is entrapping and mysterious and all I need to make me want to pick up a novel.

My thoughts: This is a story about a girl named Cassie who has lost everything once the 1st Wave hit the Earth. Her parents are gone and her beloved brother was taken away from her. Now alone in the midst of the battle between humans and the outsiders who invaded Earth, Cassie must do everything to survive while also trying to find her brother again. Told from multiple perspectives of Cassie and other characters who intertwine into the story, Rick Yancey takes his audience on an emotional journey of a girl trying her hardest to fight for humanity. 

I was hesitant to start this book considering I have a hatred towards all things aliens, but I am so glad I read this novel. This is probably one of my favorite books I’ve read this year, in fact. The way Rick Yancey described the different waves that ruined the Earth immediately interested me so much from the start that I couldn’t put the book down. He took away all the cliche alien aspects of Sci-Fi books and created this world where humans couldn’t trust one another in case they were an alien. He captured the raw emotions in each character as they face different situations that ripped away all they were before the Waves. He showed such deep character development with each person becoming cold to the world around them thanks to the aliens who claimed the world as their own. I loved Cassie’s snarky attitude so much and her dry humor during the scariest moments she went through during her survival during the Waves. The movement between points of views came together flawlessly as if I was watching a movie in my mind which most authors can’t fully use to their potential. The use of different character’s POVs showed the entire situation through different perspectives that left you desperate for more pages in this novel. 

There wasn’t a moment in this book where I was bored. Each scene, whether it be action packed, suspenseful, or mysterious, made me cling on to this book to find out what was happening next. Seeing Ben, a favorite character of mine, from his POV was very intriguing too. I enjoyed his character the most since he was forced to become this stoic soldier in a matter of a year just to survive another day in this apocalyptic book. The supporting characters were as crucial to the plot as Cassie was. Each person Rick Yancey added to the story served a purpose to the over all story that came to a full circle at the end in a way that left me dazzled. 

Overall, I adored this novel. It was one of my first apocalyptic books I’ve picked up to read and I was completely happy that I picked this up. I loved the actions scenes that flew in left and right and the budding romance peaking in throughout the story that flowed so easily. It was suspenseful, interesting, addicting, and thought provoking. I definitely recommend this to someone interested in sci-fi or dystopian books or someone in need of a little action.

Rating: ★★★★★

One thought on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (Review)

  1. I completely agree with your thoughts. I didn’t feel like I was reading ‘an alien book’. I loved this book too, it was one of the first YA books I ever read. I’ve been hooked since. 🙂

    Also, I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for this!

Leave a Reply

