The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Review)

15768409

**Do not read this review unless you have read the first two novels in the Mara Dyer Trilogy in case of spoilers**

Synopsis: Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.
Retribution has arrived.

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Mystery, Supernatural

Cover: I want to hang up all of Michelle Hodkin’s book covers in my room since the covers are that beautiful.

My thoughts: This is one of the most satisfying conclusions to a trilogy that I have ever read. I read this novel looking for answers to the questions that arose in the first two novels, and boy did I get some answers. The book begins right where the last installment left off without wasting time reviewing what happened before. It picked up easily into the mystery that revolves around Mara Dyer and what happened when the hospital collapsed in Evolution. It shows Mara Dyer being tested on by Dr. Kells who will do anything to figure out Mara’s abilities and how to control them. Using inhumane techniques, Mara goes through horrible tests in the hospital she was forcefully put into.

A major contribution to the development of the plot were Jamie and Stella who assisted Mara in escaping the hospital to find out who was testing their supernatural abilities while also trying to find Noah. It takes these three characters on a journey around Florida and eventually New York City in their efforts to find the truth. Reading Jamie and Mara’s effortless banter helped lighten the heavy mood in the book which made me crack up at certain points during the most serious of scenes. I really enjoyed seeing Jamie play a bigger role in the plot as he assisted Mara who was adamant to find Noah again. It helped make the plot flow easier rather than having Mara alone trying to figure out why people are testing her abilities. 

In this book there were some characters who did not make it to the pages which I did miss and wish there were scenes with those characters. But other than that small flaw, this book was gripping in a way that made me rush to finish it in just one day. I have been so invested in this series for three years now. And finally having my hands on the last installment made me ecstatic to find out who Mara Dyer really was. As usual, this book many twists that turns. I was anxious for Mara when she was being experimented on, I felt her fear when she was using her strange powers, and I fell in love with her friends and family all over again when she reunited with them. Michelle Hodkin explained Mara, Jamie, Stella, and Noah’s abilities by using flashbacks and psychological terminology that I thankfully understood from my psychology class I took. All her explanations to the questions I had built inside me were answered in a way that wasn’t rushed and was realistic. I flew through this story which naturally had plot twists I never expected. This story is the opposite of boring and wrapped up in such a beautiful way that brought tears to my eyes.

One of my most favorite series finally finished. Mara’s story is put to rest. My questions were answered. I was baffled by the unexpected turns this book.  I gasped, I laughed, I cried, I was speechless, and I am sad that this story is really over. Michelle Hodkin created such a satisfying end to one of my most beloved series I have ever read. Reading the last page of this precious story left me with chills because it is finally over and now I know who Mara Dyer really is. And I loved every moment of this series. It shaped me as a reader and a writer and I will forever hold a special place in my heart for these books that I recommend to everyone who reads or wants to read more often.  

Rating: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

