The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (Review)

16429619

 

Synopsis: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Cover: I picked this up because this cover was so beautiful, that I couldn’t not buy it. I would love to have a poster of this cover in my room.

My thoughts: The Kiss of Deception is a story about Lia, a First Daughter in the kingdom Morrighan, who is arranged to marry a prince from another kingdom called Dalbreck, whom she has never met before. This marriage is meant to unite both kingdoms, but turns sour when Lia escapes her kingdom right before the wedding. With her friend, Pauline, in tow, they escape to a small village where Lia meets Kaden and Rafe, two mysterious men with a past that they’d rather not share. Little did she know was that one of the men she meets is a prince and the other is an assassin from another kingdom set on a mission to kill her. With shocking secrets that get unraveled as the story progresses, Lia has to figure out who to trust and who to fight against in an action packed book full of secrets and deception. 

This story, although it started a bit slow, was a fantastic read. Lia’s journey to a small village where she met Rafe and Kaden kept me flipping the pages to know what happened next as she was hiding from her father’s army sent to find her. Both male protagonists had pasts they weren’t willing to divulge, even to the reader, which helped keep up the mystery to who was going to attempt to kill Lia. Mary E. Pearson wrote each point of view in such a unique way that kept me from knowing everything about the characters I was trying to figure out the entire time. The twists that turns this story took was completely unexpected for me. Every time I thought I predicted what was going to happen, the story took a different, gripping turn I would have never foreseen.

The entire fantasy element of the novel built up in a steady way that wasn’t overbearing to understand how the entire society worked and how important Lia was to her kingdom she fled. The world building was paced just right which helped me comprehend all the different kingdoms and their politics that meshed with each other in a way that became an important plot point for the story. The characters, as well, were written exceptionally. I loved Lia’s strength throughout all the situations she was put in, and I also loved both men’s past we got glimpses at over the course of the novel. One thing that really helped attract me to the story was the fact that the romance wasn’t overdone. Lia’s relationship with both men unfolded at a steady pace and made me root for both of them equally. The mystery and suspense that built in me as I wondered who was the assassin that was going to attack Lia was also incredibly entertaining to read. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and the way the author changed POVs to show all sides of the story. 

I highly recommend picking this novel up because it will make you wonder about each character’s past and leave you wanting more.

Rating: ★★★★★ (4.5 stars)

 

2 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (Review)

  1. Oh my gosh. Reading the reviews for this book, I’m glad I’m not the only one who had guessed completely wrong. I loved The Kiss of Deception!!! Good review 🙂

Leave a Reply

