I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Review)

20820994

Summary: A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, LGBT, Realistic Fiction

Cover: I am a sucker for simplistic covers, and I really, really do love this cover that I’d love to display on my bookshelf.

My thoughts: Oh My Clark Gable. I did not expect to enjoy this novel as much as I did. I first started out reading this book that had a unique writing style I had to ease into. I wasn’t used to the large amounts of figurative language and metaphors used in this novel to help portray the characters in the way they needed to be shown to the reader. But after a while, I was able to dive right into the story of Jude and Noah, twins who went through hard times that made them stop talking to one another. The story is told in two different time periods of both of the twins. One point of view was Noah when he was fourteen years old, and the other was Jude when she was sixteen years old. By having two points of views in two time periods, it helped show all sides of the story that had such depth that moved me.

At first, I was not used to Noah’s narration considering he was so metaphorical and described everything in such an artistic way I struggled to grasp in the beginning. I did love his story, though. His struggle being an artist and figuring out who he really was gripped my attention immediately. His love story was so heartbreaking and emotional to read whenever things didn’t go his way thanks to his difficulty figuring out his sexuality. Although he was fourteen years old in his point of view, he had such a wise mind and was able to react to all the situations he was put in. I especially loved how artistic he was and how he dealt with the problems that arose because of his love for art that opened so many doors in his life.  

Jude was one of the most unique characters that I’ve ever read. She spoke to her grandma’s ghost in her mind, was incredibly superstitious, said Oh My Clark Gable rather than Oh My God, was on a boy boycott, and provided so much humor to this story. The romance in her part of the story was so heartwarming just like Noah’s and made me want to keep reading from her POV to see what was going to happen next. Reading about her struggle with her past and her relationship with her mom that ruled her life added so much emotion to her side of the story. Both Jude and Noah had such interesting stories and their shared love for art really tied them together in a special bond only twins have. 

One thing I really loved about this story was the family aspect of it. This book is not simply about why Noah and Jude weren’t talking anymore and how they reconciled after so many years. It was about family and how it builds and breaks. It also helped show that just because people weren’t related didn’t mean that they weren’t family. Jude and Noah’s problems with their family was reflected in how they acted and it helped the development of the plot line when they overcame the problems that rifted their relationship.

This story was incredibly deep and helped show so many sides to the characters over the course of the three years in the novel split between Noah and Jude. Every person introduced into this book helped develop the plot in such a nice way that wasn’t rushed. The conclusion to the story was wrapped up in a way that left the reader fully satisfied. I enjoyed all aspects of this story and am so happy with how the characters ended up with the situations in their lives. They faced their problems head-on and found a solution with the help of others that tied in to both POVs of the story. I highly recommend this novel that will make you think deeply and want it to never end.  

Rating: ★★★★★

– Olivia

2 thoughts on “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Review)

Leave a Reply

