Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Review)

22294935

Rating: ★★★★★

Summary: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

My thoughts: Set in the same world as Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone comes a new story of a motley crew set out to complete an impossible heist that  could potentially end their lives. Six characters, hardened to the world around them, come together in order to try and free a very important man held captive in a highly secured building for an large sum of money. During this near to impossible mission, all six characters form a strong bond as they risk their lives in order to improve their dreary lives in Ketterdam.

I was lucky enough to win this book in a giveaway held by Fierce Reads and I am so grateful that I was able to read this novel before it was published. I have been highly anticipating this novel all year and I can finally say that this book was such an incredible read that I flew through. Like all of Bardugo’s past novels, I was immediately gripped into the story from the start when she first began introducing all six characters in their own chapters told from their POVs*. Each character all had an air of mystery to them because the reader doesn’t fully know everything about their rocky past, but as the story progresses, you eventually learn more and more about each protagonist. I adored each character in their own way. Some were funny, some were reckless, and some had darkness lurking around them which interested me the entire time I read this book. I especially liked the fact that each of the characters grew and developed together and alone in ways that was subtle but made a large impact to the story in a way that I really appreciated.

One of my most favorite aspects of this book was the pacing. Bardugo’s ability to pace a story to have the right amount of tension kept me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was going to happen next during the impossible heist. I loved how each character was closed off to the reader and then slowly opened up, over time, rather than spilling all their secrets the moment they were introduced. This story hardly ever had dull moments because there were always important developmental scenes for characters or action scenes that hooked my attention.

I loved this novel and I cannot wait to read the next installment in this new series because this story ended on a major cliffhanger. Just when you think everything was resolved nicely, there was another problem the characters had to face together as a team. I highly recommend this book because it’s unique and offers such diversity with the cast of characters as well as keeps you gripped because of the fact that this novel reminded me of Ocean’s Eleven set in a fantasy world.

Book Info: Add to Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

 

* POVs: Point of views

One thought on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Review)

Leave a Reply

