The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall (Review)

25489410

*I received a physical copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Rating: ★★★★☆

Summary: A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with. 

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Romance, Contemporary

My thoughts: This story is about a girl, named Avery, who gets whisked away into this extravagant yet dangerous life with the help of a boy from her school and a mysterious one who she simply met one day. Her life was simple, she moved around frequently with her mother, and the only worry she had was staying in a town long enough to make friends. Little did she know that she was apart of this society called The Circle set in Paris where she begins to face a mystery that, if not solved soon, could lead the world into a chaotic war. With the help of both boys beside her, Avery must travel between Paris to Istanbul in hopes of solving the mystery that puts various lives in danger.

I really enjoyed this book because it was so fast paced and full of mystery and action. The main characters all had their own levels of sass and weren’t dry at all. They all had these interesting backgrounds that made me connect with them and want to learn more about them in the long run. One thing that I didn’t like or dislike (I felt somewhat neutral and just blah about it) was the love triangle in the novel. Thankfully the plot of the novel didn’t get swallowed up by the love triangles like other books do. It was set in the background and wasn’t as angsty as I thought it would be (although it did build up quickly). I sometimes even liked both boys and couldn’t seem to have a favorite because both were so different and yet were both appealing to read about.

The entire mystery of the novel was a very large factor of the book along with a fantasy element that really made the entire story unique in a way. There wasn’t much magical elements of the novel, but there was enough to perk my attention and make me desperate to know what was going to happen next. One element that I adored was the historical facts the Circle gave to Avery. They wove their society into history not only to teach her how powerful they were but it also helped set the plot of the mystery she had to solve. It really was a cool factor that I liked and would love to read more about in the sequel. 

Overall, this book was a good light read that was something I was looking for at the time. Yes, the love triangle wasn’t necessary, but it wasn’t overbearing like other books that I’ve read. The mystery wasn’t that complex so you can sometimes see the twists and turns coming, but I feel as though this novel was just building up the tension for the second novel. The Conspiracy of Us ended on a cliff-hanger and I cannot wait to dive back into this world and see what is going to happen next with Avery, the boys, and the Circle. 

Book Info: Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s