Food and Fiction: Red Queen Cupcakes

image.jpgRed Queen | Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

I recently came up with this idea that I wanted to begin to prepare food that either matched book covers’ color schemes (like the photo above) or make actual food mentioned in the stories that I’ve read. And, with the help of my best friend, I decided to call this blog feature Food and Fiction. It’s my own way of taking a twist on the regular book photography I take by adding different foods into the photos too. It will also make my photos a bit more interactive by sharing my love for fiction with some recipes relating to it!

I’ve found majority of the recipes for this blog feature on Tumblr and Pinterest and would love to share my end-product of this first post of Food and Fiction. In these blog posts I’ll give you the summary of the novel displayed, along with my thoughts on it, and the recipe for the food that I made! 

I decided to feature a very delicious food in honor of the epic fantasy novel Red Queen because Victoria Aveyard’s highly anticipated sequel, Glass Sword, was released this month! So what’s a better time to showcase a Red Queen inspired food?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon 

My thoughts

This book is such an interesting fantasy/dystopian novel. There’s action, romance, incredible super powers, strong female leads, and betrayals just around the corner. Victoria Aveyard grips your attention from the first page and will leave you wanting more by the time you put down this epic novel.

Click here for my review of the AMAZING sequel, Glass Sword!

Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

I found this recipe on Pinterest one day and loved the idea of preparing it because I recently read Red Queen‘s sequel, Glass Sword, and wanted to bake a food inspired by the story. This recipe is actually for a cake, but my friend and I decided to put the batter into cupcake tins simply to make the recipe a bit more unique. I was never a fan of any red velvet flavored baked goods until I made these amazing cupcakes. They are light and fluffy and aren’t as coco-y as I expected them to taste like which I really loved. They’re so delicious and the red food coloring really matches the theme of Red Queen! Feel free to use this recipe to make your own food in honor of Red Queen!

CLICK HERE FOR THE RECIPE (Found on Cooking Classy’s blog)

3 thoughts on “Food and Fiction: Red Queen Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

