Food and Fiction: Coronation Celebration Cake

IMG_2183.jpgWinter | Lemon Cake with Yellow Lemon Frosting

After finishing the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, I knew I wanted to create a dessert in honor of the last novel, Winter.  This is one of my most beloved series of all time, so I really wanted to make this Food and Fiction blog post about this amazing series that I highly recommend to everyone who loves to read. At first I was going to create an apple dessert (to match the cover of Winter), but once I read this passage from the novel, I completely changed my mind and made this dessert: 

“He was carrying a silver platter topped with a round, single tiered cake covered in swirls of pale yellow frosting. Cinder knew immediately that it wasn’t from the royal pastry chefs, whose creations were almost too immaculate to touch. This cake, with its messy frosting and lack of decoration, was remarkably unpretentious.”

“Scarlet brushed her hair off her shoulder. ‘It’s a lemon cake. My grandmother’s special recipe…'”

IMG_2184

Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

My thoughts

Winter is such a beautiful conclusion to such a fantastic series full of fairy tale retellings, action, adventure, romance, and amazing Sci-Fi elements. If you have not picked up Cinder yet, I highly recommend that you do so right now. I couldn’t have loved this book, and this series, more if I tried. Marissa Meyer gave us the perfect fairy tale ending that her precious characters deserved. I definitely will be rereading this series over and over again for the years to come. 

Lemon Cake Recipe 

I made this cake for my family’s Super Bowl party, and the cake is SO delicious and lemony. It has the perfect amount of lemon zing in it to really capture your attention, and I even added some lemon juice into my frosting to add some more flavor too. I didn’t make any frosting this time around; instead I went out and bought a jar of frosting and colored it with yellow food coloring to make it look playful and cute. Just follow this recipe linked below, and you’ll have the perfect coronation celebration cake that Cinder and her friends had in Winter.

CLICK HERE FOR THE RECIPE! (Found on Martha Stewart’s website)

IMG_2181

 

4 thoughts on “Food and Fiction: Coronation Celebration Cake

Leave a Reply

