Half Lost by Sally Green (Review)

20814993*I received a physical copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Rating: ★★★★★ (4.5 STARS)

Summary: A stunning, magical world. An international sensation.

Nathan Byrn is running again. The Alliance of Free Witches has been all but destroyed. Scattered and demoralized, constantly pursued by the Council’s Hunters, only a bold new strategy can save the rebels from total defeat. They need the missing half of Gabriel’s amulet—an ancient artifact with the power to render its bearer invincible in battle.

But the amulet’s guardian—the reclusive and awesomely powerful witch Ledger – has her own agenda. To win her trust, Nathan must travel to America and persuade her to give him the amulet. Combined with the Gifts he has inherited from Marcus, the amulet might just be enough to turn the tide for the Alliance and end the bloody civil war between Black and White witches once and for all…

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

My thoughts: WHAT A CONCLUSION TO ONE OF MY MOST FAVORITE TRILOGIES! The moment I got this novel I immediately began reading it because I was so ready to dive back into Nathan’s world where he is fighting against the Hunters alongside his best friend Gabriel who he has developed feelings towards. Sally Green puts us right back in the middle of the action from page one without bothering to recap what happened in the previous novels which adds an epic sense of urgency and adventure to the story that you become addicted to while reading it. I easily fell back into the world of Black and White witches and could not wait to see what Nathan was going to do to avenge his father and stop the Hunters from harming witches forever. 

Once again I was obsessed with how dark all these books were. Half Lost continued to show the morally grey character of Nathan who did whatever he needed to do to stop the Hunters. He let his dark side come out even more in this novel, but, along the way, he also reeled it in with the help of his friend, Gabriel. Oh how I adored their relationship. That was by far one of my most favorite things about this series. Their slow burning relationship was so well written and I loved how their contrasting personalities butted heads with each other even in this conclusion. The way that they loved and cared for each other was so sweet and precious and I could read hundreds of more pages just on their conversations forever because they are so sweet and have such a unique dynamic that I haven’t read in other YA novels. 

This concluding novel definitely had the most action by far. Nathan was constantly fighting Hunters either alone or with friends. He had to go through great lengths to try and defeat Soul, the head of the Hunters, and the new magical elements woven into story line really was interesting and entrancing to read about. The action scenes were so well written too. It kept me turning the pages as quick as I could to see what was going to happen to all the characters that come together and fight as one.

The only thing that prevented me from giving Half Lost a 5/5 stars was the ending. I liked it and yet I didn’t like it at the same time. The story wrapped up so nicely and not a question was left unanswered, but the way the story ended was so sad and I had wished that it had ended on a higher note. But in a way it did end happily (I really don’t want to spoil it!) which was why I liked it as well. It was both happy and sad at the same exact time and it really messed with my feels. I am just so sad that this trilogy has finally ended, but I will definitely be rereading this series and recommending it to others because it is so underrated and needs all the love. I’m so thankful for Sally Green for writing such a rich story and for just being the nicest author around, and I cannot wait to see what other stories she will share with the world because she is a really talented author.

highly  recommend this to every reader because it has a diverse set of characters, has a morally grey protagonist, has an AMAZING love story, has action, adventure, magic, everything! It’s amazing! The entire trilogy gets better and better and what more could you ask for?

Book Info: Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

Leave a Reply

