Food and Fiction: Nina’s Waffles

IMG_4613

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Buttermilk Waffles

PicMonkey CollageLeigh Bardugo is one of my top five favorite YA authors, so, when she released Six of Crows, I completely fell in love with the gritty story she created in the Grisha world. I connected with each character she introduced and loved how utterly badass they all were in their own ways throughout the story. I just knew I had to make a Food and Fiction post inspired by Six of Crows AKA one of my favorite new releases in 2015. I even asked Leigh Bardugo, on Twitter, what food I should make to reflect her character Nina Zenik, and she said waffles! Thus ensued me making delicious buttermilk waffles in the name of Bardugo’s fierce female character, Nina Zenik. 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

My thoughts

Six of Crows is a fantasy version of Ocean’s Eleven where a motley group of characters have to band together in order to pull off a seemingly impossible heist. It’s full of action, intrigue, diverse characters, and witty banter that you will not get enough of. Set in the fantastical Grisha world, Leigh weaves a tale of friendship and adventure in a dark setting that you won’t ever want to leave. This book will leave you spell bound and make you feel as if you are apart of Kaz’s crew with the way each character is so relateable. I adore this novel and cannot rave enough about it’s flawlessness. 

TO SEE MY FULL REVIEW CLICK HERE

IMG_4612

Buttermilk Waffles

The recipe I found for Nina’s waffles was a simple recipe that you can easily make on a weekend morning. It made the perfect amount of waffles that were fluffy and tasty. In order to spice up the recipe to reflect Nina’s fiery attitude, I added chocolate chips and strawberries to the top of the stack right after it was made for the chocolate to melt onto the warm waffles. 

(I tried heating up the chocolate chips in the microwave to drizzle over the waffles to be artsy, but that ended up with me somehow setting the chocolate on fire in the microwave. I think I left it to melt for too long and it ended up burning because the chocolate wasn’t the baking kind that melts easily. Don’t do what I did.)

CLICK HERE FOR THE RECIPE (Found at sally’s baking addiction)

About the photos

  • The Six of Crows poster included in the first photo was given out to all the people who preordered the novel in 2015, and I knew I just had to include it in the photo! 
  • I made sure to include a nice eye shadow palette in order to show off Nina’s femininity that she isn’t afraid to flaunt with power.
  • The gold leaf crown immediately reminded me of something Nina and Alina (from Shadow and Bone) would wear because it’s simple, beautiful, and would make the perfect crown for a Grisha girl. 
  • The little Nina magnetic book mark came from a set of the Six of Crows characters from HappyHelloCo‘s store on Etsy! The photo would not be complete without a little Nina being shown off. 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Food and Fiction: Nina’s Waffles

  1. Those waffles look delicious! And thanks so much for always linking to the recipe, makes it oh so helpful for those (me *weeps*) who want to try and make them.

    I checked out Six of Crows from the library and I’m ready to finally give it a shot and read. I didn’t want to last year because of the year long wait for the sequel. I hope I like it~

Leave a Reply

