Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken (Review)

20983366.jpgBook #2 in the PASSENGER SERIES  *POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW*

Rating: ★★★★★

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Summary: All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed. When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.

My thoughts: What a conclusion to one of my most favorite fantasy duologies! This was everything I wanted and more, and I only wish that Wayfarer was lengthier so I could continue glimpsing into these precious characters’ lives. This book left me completely satisfied by wrapping up every loose end and giving each character the ending they deserve. It blew me away and made me fall for Bracken’s beautiful descriptions that were pieced together to create a world that I never wanted to escape.

The second novel in the Passenger duology picks up right where we left off in the first novel. Characters are separated from each other through time and must find a way back to one another before chaos ensues. New characters are thrust into this story as the novel progresses, as well! And they all successfully find a special place in my heart because of their quirks and dialogue that I adored. Not only are there more characters, who are incredibly diverse, but there are new settings that are introduced too. Bracken expertly describes each location around the world and time period in a simplistic and realistic way that makes you feel as though you are Nicholas or Etta traveling through time. She writes such wondrous scenes of chaos or peace in ways that made Wayfarer feel like a movie running through my mind, ever changing and evolving into something fantastic.

There wasn’t a single detail in this story that I didn’t fall in love with. There were intense action scenes that left me flipping rapidly through pages to see what came next. There were laugh out loud funny lines said by new characters who made the story ten times more interesting with their presence. There were hard hitting lines about racism throughout time that made me so grateful that Bracken included them in this novel in a respectable and realistic way. From the characters to the settings, this book is full of diversity, epic romances, twists and turns that will leave you breathless and wanting more. There is never a dull moment in Wayfarer, and I am so glad that it kept me on my toes the entire time. So much develops from Passenger and makes you wonder what will happen next. This was such a fantastic conclusion to a duology. I could not have asked for more and am grateful that I was left completely satisfied with this ending. I am sure to reread this duology over and over again because I cannot get enough of Etta, Nicholas, and their fantastic race through time. 

Book Info: Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon


** I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher at YALLFest 2016! **

Leave a Reply

