Anything You Can Do by R.S. Grey (Review)

banner-133037374Rating: ★★★★☆

Genres: Romance, New Adult

Summary: Lucas Thatcher has always been my enemy.

It’s been a decade since I’ve seen him, but our years on opposite coasts were less of a lasting peace and more of a temporary cease-fire. Now that we’re both back in our small town, I know Lucas expects the same old war, but I’ve changed since high school—and from the looks of it, so has he.

The arrogant boy who was my teenage rival is now a chiseled doctor armed with intimidating good looks. He is Lucas Thatcher 2.0, the new and improved version I’ll be competing with in the workplace instead of the schoolyard.

I’m not worried; I’m a doctor now too, board-certified and sexy in a white coat. It almost feels like winning will be too easy—until Lucas unveils a tactic neither of us has ever used before: sexual warfare.

The day he pushes me up against the wall and presses his lips to mine, I can’t help but wonder if he’s filling me with passion or poison. Every fleeting touch is perfect torture. With every stolen kiss, my walls crumble a little more. After all this time, Lucas knows exactly how to strip me of my defenses, but I’m in no hurry to surrender.

Knowing thy enemy has never felt so good.

My thoughts: The hate-to-love trope in romance novels is my favorite plot device, and I will never get tired of it being used. This story was no different. The petty animosity between Lucas and Daisy was hilarious and addictive to read about, knowing both characters were incredibly attracted to one another. Their banter and insults thrown at one another as they both try to rise to the top of a doctor’s practice in their hometown completely sucked me in. Yet again, R.S. Grey wrote another novel full of angst that I devoured in one day. 

unnamed-2One major thing that jumped out to me from the beginning was how much I loved Daisy’s internal monologue. R.S. Grey is always flawless at creating such a conversational and relatable narrator that helped me fall into the lives of Daisy and Lucas. While I liked Daisy and her quirky Ravenclaw-esque personality, I adored Lucas who was such a sweet love interest that I wished had a larger POV in the story. The story would have felt much more complete and could have held more depth if Lucas’ POV was offered. It felt like the story was one sided, only seeing it from Daisy’s eyes, and I wished Lucas was able to offer more of their history they shared together. He was such a heartwarming character, and I wanted him to have more time to share his side of the story and his love for Daisy. 

Daisy’s relationship with Lucas was such a fun aspect of the book that I loved. Their tension and chemistry flowed off the pages and kept me glued to the book in hopes of them getting together soon. I was obsessed with their dialogue and interactions and the glimpses into their past that was shown through their discussions and recollections that side characters offered. The thing that really kept me from truly loving this story was how immature and stubborn Daisy was at times. I wanted to shake her and yell, “Kiss him!” every time she spoke to Lucas because it was so clear that she loved him and refused to admit it. At times her dislike for him irked me, but her character development towards the end of the novel made up for that flaw a bit. While it seemed a bit rushed, her realization of the mistakes she made helped resolve the issues I had with her character majority of the time. 

As always, I loved R.S. Grey’s newest romance story. She always creates such funny characters and plot lines that suck me in and help me lose myself in the romances she creates. This story was no different. While I didn’t enjoy Daisy’s character as much and wished that Lucas offered more to the story, I still enjoyed reading it. This is the perfect weekend romance that you can finish in a day or two because it’s such a lovely hate-to-love novel.

Book Info: Goodreads 

 

Leave a Reply

