Checkmate: This is Reckless by Kennedy Fox (Review)

unnamed (2).jpg33868343.jpgRating: ★★★★☆

Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Summary: Drew Fisher is the type of guy every girl wants.
Noble police officer by day, charming prince by night.
He has no idea the effect he has on women, especially me—his little sister’s best friend.

I’m the blonde Southern belle who lives up to the cliché, except I have my own quirks. I’m smart as a whip, can change my own oil, and recite The Pledge of Allegiance backward, but he doesn’t see that girl.

It’d be easier to forget him if he wasn’t my roommate and if the first thing I saw in the morning wasn’t his shirtless body covered in tattoos. I’ve crushed on him since the day we met, but he’s made it perfectly clear where we stand. Just friends.

I know I need to move on and accept that his feelings will never be mutual, but every day he smiles at me, I’m left dreaming of what if.

He has girl issues, and I’ve got a crush I can’t deny.
We’re friends, but I want more.

One drunken hookup leaves us with much more than a platonic friendship. Pretending it never happened proves to be more difficult than anticipated.

A crazy ex-girlfriend, a dangerous war of stolen glances, and passionate kisses leads to the most reckless battle yet. I won’t be a pawn in his game, but I’ll play by his rules if it will show him I’m the one worth breaking them for.

Checkmate, Prince Charming.

My thoughts: Kennedy Fox has done it again! They managed to make me get completely immersed in their latest love story until I finished Checkmate: This is Reckless in one sitting. I am always a sucker for a good love story that is brewing with tension and longing gazes, and that is exactly what this book had! This story follows the lives of Courtney and Drew who are both roommates and best friends. Courtney is head over heels in love with Drew while he is oblivious to her advances. That is until one night they end up getting drunk together which causes a chain of events that will change their relationship forever.

I really enjoyed this book, especially because we were able to see characters from the previous Checkmate books interact with Drew and Courtney. Having the gang back together was so heartwarming, and I loved seeing the world from Drew and Courtney’s eyes. Courtney is such a cute character who loves to bake and her internal monologue is hilarious to read. Her chemistry with Drew flows off the pages in a way that left me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was going to happen next in their relationship. They definitely have a more stable relationship, compared to the other couple in the previous Checkmate books, and that made me love their story even more. I loved how caring Drew is and how they are comfortable around one another because they are best friends first. 

This new adult romance was full of twists and turns. Kennedy Fox never fail to include some gasp worthy moments in the midst of a steamy romance novel in order to spice things up. I was obsessed with all the directions this book went and all the angsty moments shared between Drew and Courtney. My only criticism is the continuous slut shamming within the novel which could have been taken out of the book to make it less sexist towards girls. Hopefully that will be resolved in the next installment in this series because girls should never be pinned against one another simply because they see each other as competition. *fingers crossed*

Book Info: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Trigger Warning: Sexual Assault 

*I was given a digital copy of this book from the authors in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

