The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Review)

32075671.jpgDIVERSE READ: Black protagonist / interracial couple

Rating: ★★★★★

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

My thoughts: The Hate U Give is officially one of the best stories that I have ever read for a wide range of reasons. The political commentary inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement is so thought provoking and hard hitting that it will leave you breathless from the moment you begin this story. I could not get enough of all the issues that Angie Thomas touched upon in a way that both educates and opens the eyes of readers young and old for years to come. If I were to tell you to pick up one book for the entirety of 2017, I’d implore you to pick up The Hate U Give because it is such a relevant topic to our times and must not be ignored.

Starr is officially one of my most favorite female leads in a novel because her internal monologue was one of the best aspects of this story. She is hilarious, genuine, thoughtful, and her comments about the injustice in society are direct and will help you learn more about her culture that isn’t shown often on TV and in books. I also adored how resilient she was throughout the story. She never gave up, even during the toughest moments and inspired me to stand up for what I believe in. Another important, and ever present, aspect of this story that made me fall in love with THUG was Starr’s family. Her family was the most supportive and open minded family who were quirky and provided such happiness to the dark story. They brightened the book and offered overwhelming amounts of love to Starr which I loved.

The Hate U Give‘s commentary about police brutality is such an important part of the book that struck me, seeing it from the eyes of Starr. The events in this novel are described in such a raw way that tugs on your heart and makes you root for Starr and her family seeking justice for Khalil’s death. Words cannot describe how much this book affected me. It was so raw and moving in a way that you can only understand once you read this story. It offers a new perspective that I am so glad I read, and opened my eyes up to the problems black communities face. I highly suggest you pick up this diverse story that I think everyone should read because police brutality is such a prevalent issue that must be addressed, and this book comments on it perfectly. 

Book Info: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

* I RECEIVED AN EARLY COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM THE PUBLISHER AT YALLFest *

3 thoughts on “The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Review)

  1. This definitely sounds like a really powerful, eye-opening read that is incredibly important, especially in today’s society. Really looking forward to reading this one! Lovely review.

Leave a Reply

