Checkmate: This is Effortless by Kennedy Fox (Review)

33820516Rating: ★★★★☆

Genres: Romance

Summary: Courtney Bishop is as sugary sweet as her famous blueberry muffins.
Southern belle at heart, Cali girl by choice.
She barged into my life and easily became my best friend.
All was great as roommates and just friends, but then I fell for the girl who could chop firewood, deliver baby calves, and bail hay without breaking a sweat.
She’s the perfect mixture of sugar and spice, and I love her.

Being more than friends and trying to build our future isn’t as easy as it sounds.
Moving forward and creating memories is all I want for us, but when the past continues to come back and haunt me, I’m not so sure she’ll stay for the ride.

Loving her is easy, but losing her will break me. Burning passion combined with an undeniable chemistry constantly pushes and pulls us together. In the end, I’ll prove we’re worth the fight, even when the game is far from over.

Checkmate, sweetheart.

My thoughts: Kennedy Fox always has the ability to create a novel that I happily devour in one day. Their stories are always perfectly paced and addictive enough that I lose myself in the plot for hours on hand. Checkmate: This is Effortless is the sequel to Checkmate: This is Reckless following the lives of Drew and Courtney as a couple. While the first book was setting up their relationship, this novel is showcasing the tension and problems woven into their lives because of people from their past trying to tear them apart. This is Effortless manages to combine both a steamy romance and a tension filled story together to create the perfect weekend read that you’ll eat up without a second thought. 

I loved the direction the story took, in this novel, especially with all the twists and turns thrown into the mix which was introduced in the first novel, following Drew and Courtney. The looming danger hanging over their lives created a sense of urgency in the story that really helped the plot line move along, and I appreciated that aspect the most. The story wasn’t too fast paced or too slow; at all parts, it was well paced in a way that keeps your attention at all times. I also loved how funny and quirky both of the characters were. Their dialogue felt so real and relatable, and I just really love characters that feel more like friends to me rather than fictional characters. 

From the action to the characters to the romance, I was obsessed with this story. I loved all the new issues that were introduced into the plot and was so invested in the Drew and Courtney’s lives. I didn’t want this story to end because I loved their relationship so much, in all aspects. This was the perfect sequel to a romance story and is a great summery read to pick up! 

Book Info: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

* I RECEIVED AN E-ARC OF THIS NOVEL FROM THE AUTHORS IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW *

Warning: The use of the word “psycho” is used in this novel.

unnamed (3).jpg

Leave a Reply

