Blood Guard by Megan Erickson (Review)

1Release Date: Sept. 12th 2017

Rating: ★★★★☆

Genres: Paranormal, Vampire, Romance, Fantasy

Summary: Tendra: One minute, I’m a bartender in gritty Mission City; the next, I’m whisked away by a vampire named Athan who tells me that I’m the lifeblood of his clan. It sounds unbelievable, but he’s got evidence I can’t deny. Turns out, Athan belongs to an underground society of vampires who feed only on humans with their consent. Their enemies have no such qualms, and they want me dead. The only thing standing in their way is strong, sexy Athan. And the closer we get, the more tempted I am to let Athan feed. . . .

Athan: How could I have known when I snatched this snarky, beautiful human off the streets that she would change my destiny? As a loyal soldier, I must deliver Tendra to our future king—my brother. Empowered with the blood of ten generations of the Gregorie breed, she is fated to rule as our queen. But there’s something between us that’s so intoxicating, so carnal, I can’t help wanting Tendra for myself . . . even if it’s treason.

My thoughts: I am a sucker for a good vampire novel (pun intended), and this novel was just what I needed in order to escape reality, for a few hours. It had everything I wanted in a vampire novel: a fast paced plot, a brooding vampire lead, and a steamy romance as well. Blood Guard was the perfect novel to pick up and fall head over heels for because it offered me the nostalgia I craved when reading a paranormal novel. 

My favorite aspect of the novel was the relationship between Ten and Athan. Their dialogue was so well written and engaging, and the bond they shared, over the course of the novel, developed so nicely. Athan was so kind and protective of Ten, in a healthy and loving way, while still maintaining that typical brooding hero exterior that I love to see. Ten, on the other hand, was such a precious female lead who had great character development that made her stronger as the book progressed. While their love blossomed a bit quickly, the moments they shared still made me get butterflies because I loved their dynamic so much. They both stood on equal grounds and saved one another from different circumstances and developed into a great power couple that I would have loved to read more of.

Along with two amazing protagonists, I also loved the vampire world Erickson created within this story. There were unique vampire elements that intrigued me and drew me in because I have never seen them used in a paranormal novel before. I did wish that the world was developed a bit more, because this story left off on a note that made me wonder what was going to happen next. There were some questions that were left unanswered that I wished were wrapped up in this novel but were left open to the readers. But all in all, I adored this story and it was such a fun paranormal story that I’d highly recommend to those looking for great vampire novels that aren’t cheesy at all.  

Book Info: Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

*I received an e-copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

