Booktube-A-Thon TBR

IMG_0702.JPG

Hello! This year I decided that I wanted to participate in the annual Booktube-A-Thon which is a read along that spans from July 24th to July 30th, and the main goal is to read as many books as you can within that time frame. You can follow along with the read-a-thon across Youtube, Twitter, and Instagram (just look up Booktubeathon!) to complete video and photo challenges, join in on reading sprints, and play fun games throughout the week! This read-a-thon is hosted by Ariel Bissett and she has created seven challenges for people to complete for the read-a-thon, so I wanted to show you the books I planned on reading for this coming week!

Because I am doing this so last minute, I am not filming any videos about the read-a-thon, but I will be updating everyone on my reading process on my Twitter and Instagram along the way. Wish me luck!


1. Read a book with a person on the cover. 

For this challenge, I plan on reading Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn. This is a diverse read about a Thai girl, named Kanchana, whose mother takes in a teen, named Shelly, to live in their home. Everything seems fine, until Kan notices that Shelly wants to be exactly like her and will stop at nothing to be just like Kan. This sounds like a quick thriller-y read that I cannot wait to dive into and read more about!  

2. Read a hyped book.

I decided to reread Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling, for this challenge. But rather than simply reading the novel, I wanted to read the illustrated version that I have not picked up yet. I cannot wait to see all the beautiful art in this novel, and I can’t wait to dive into my favorite Harry Potter book again!

3. Finish a book in one day.

Because I can finish new adult novels in one sitting, I decided to pick up Fast Connection by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell because I know that I can read this in a day. This story is about a single father and an army vet who meet on a hookup app, and their chemistry is something they cannot ignore once they meet. All my friends rave about this  diverse romance novel on Twitter, so I thought it was the perfect time to pick this one up and see what it’s all about. 

4. Read about a character that is very different from you.

For this challenge, I’m FINALLY finishing Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. I have been reading this book since May and have never gotten around to finishing it, because people kept spoiling me about the book, so that put me off from reading it any further. But I’m doing it! I’m going to finish Lord of Shadows during this Booktube-A-Thon. (I only have around 300 pages left out of the 700+ pages!)

5. Finish a book completely outdoors.

I’m not sure if I’m going to the beach this week, but if I do, I’m going to bring The Next Together by Lauren James with me. This is a story about two people who reincarnate into different bodies, and each time they come back as someone new, they fall for one another only to be separated once again. I have always wanted to read a book with this premise, and it seems like a quick read, so I bet I can finish it one day at the beach or during a reading trip to Barnes and Nobles. That counts as the outdoors, right?

6. Read a book you bought because of the cover.

Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer has the perfect title and cover that drew me to buy it in the first place. I don’t know much about this novel, besides the fact that this book is about a female con-artist, and that’s all I need to know. I am PUMPED to read this!

7. Read seven books.

I don’t have a set seventh book to read, nor do I think I can read seven books in a week, so I’m leaving this one blank. If I miraculously have time to read a seventh book, I will probably read a romance book off my Kindle! I always read those the quickest, so hopefully I can squeeze one in at the end of the read along!


So these are all the books I plan on reading this coming week! See any familiar books? Are you joining in on the read along as well? Let me know! Xx Olivia

9 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon TBR

Leave a Reply

